# MURPHY'S LAW

## BY TERRENCE M. MURPHY, CBA EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR



**Significant Gift to Support Foreclosure Relief Efforts.** Pierce and Associates, Codilis & Associates, Attorneys' Title Guaranty Fund (ATG) and the Law Bulletin Publishing Company recently made donations to The Chicago Bar Foundation (CBF) totaling \$125,000 to support several pro bono and legal aid organizations that are working to help the growing number of people facing foreclosure. Pictured (from left) are CBF Executive Director Bob Glaves; Denis Pierce of Pierce and Associates; Ernest J. Codilis, Jr. and Greg Moody of Codilis & Associates; CBA 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President and ATG Board Member Aurora Austriaco; ATG President and CEO Peter Birnbaum; Sandy Macfarland, CEO of Law Bulletin Publishing Company; and ATG Senior Vice President Hank Shulruff.

he 2011 Nominating Committee, chaired by past CBA President, Judge E. Kenneth Wright, Jr., has nominated the following new officers and board members: First Vice-President: Aurora Abella Austriaco; Second Vice-President: J. Timothy Eaton; Treasurer: Daniel A. Cotter; Secretary: Patricia Brown Holmes. Under the By-Laws, First Vice-President Robert A. Clifford will succeed Terri L. Mascherin at the Association's Annual Meeting. The following members were nominated for a two-year term on the CBA's Board of Managers: Maryam Ahmad, Allison Conlon, James B. Durkin, G.A. Finch, Scott Henry, Illinois Appellate Court Justice Mary Kay Rochford, Karen Seimetz and Howard Suskin.

The newly nominated officers and board members will take office at the Association's 26 APRIL 2011 Annual Meeting on Thursday, June 16, at The Standard Club. Tickets for the Annual Luncheon are \$65 per person or \$650 for a table of ten. For more information or to make reservations, contact **Tamra Drees** at 312/554-2057 or tdrees@chicagobar.org.

#### Kogan Media Awards Luncheon

Don't miss this year's Kogan Media Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, May 4, at Harry Caray's Restaurant beginning with a reception at 11:30 a.m. followed by the luncheon and awards presentation at 12:00 noon. The Kogan Awards recognize excellence in legal reporting. *Chicago Tribune* Columnist **Eric Zorn** will be the featured guest speaker. This year two special awards for deadline reporting will be given to **Jerry Crimmins** and **John Flynn Rooney,** two outstanding reporters from the *Chicago Daily Law*  *Bulletin.* For more information, visit the Association's web site at www.chicagobar. org or contact CBA Public Affairs Director **Linda Heacox** at 312/554-2012 or lheacox@chicagobar.org.

#### Myra Bradwell: In The Light of Experience

The Illinois Supreme Court Historic Preservation Commission, The Chicago History Museum, and the CBA are co-sponsoring this outstanding program "Myra Bradwell: In The Light of Experience" on Monday, May 2, from 4:30-6:00 p.m. at the Chicago History Museum. Participants include: Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, Wisconsin Supreme Court; Justice Rita B. Garman, Illinois Supreme Court; Justice Anne M. Burke, Illinois Supreme Court; Judge Diane P. Wood, 7th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals; Judge Ann Claire Williams, 7th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals; Chief Justice (Ret.) Mary Ann G. McMorrow, Illinois Supreme Court.

**Rachel Sandel Morse** will portray Myra Bradwell and CBA President **Terri L. Mascherin** will moderate the panel discussion. Tickets for this special event are \$65 per person and may be reserved online at www.chicagobar.org/myrabradwell or by calling CBA Ticketing at 312/554-2056.

### Alliance For Women Annual Awards Luncheon

The Alliance For Women Annual Awards Luncheon will be held on Wednesday, May 11 at The Standard Club. This year's honorees are: **Patricia Costello Slovak**, Schiff Hardin, who will receive the Founder's Award and **Marcia Owens**, Wildman Harrold, who will receive the Alta may Hulett Award. A reception for our distinguished honorees begins at 11:30 a.m. followed by lunch in the Grand Ballroom. Tickets for the luncheon are \$50 per person or \$90 for women mentors and mentee pairs. For more information or to make reservations, contact Tamra Drees at 312/554-2057 or tdrees@chicagobar.org.

#### **Young Lawyers Section Annual Meeting**

The Young Lawyers Section Annual Meeting will be held on Thursday, June 2, at Petterino's Restaurant. YLS outgoing Chair **Jill Eckert McCall**, who has initiated a number of outstanding programs, passes